ALSACE & HOLLYWOOD

Last week I was invited to a star-studded event. Hollywood actors and all.

The setting was cosy (none of these I’m too sexy for my shirt  gathering), the guests were crème de la crème only (glad I met Pascal Weeks & shared my plate of Cheese with Glou) and the wine list was – if not eclectic in variety – surprising in taste: 12 Alsace Riesling grand crus. Nothing less.

I can already hear you mumble how bo-ring it must have been. Same region, same grapes, duh. Well, I beg to differ.

We started off with bubbles. Not champagne but Cremant Riesling  – Frey Sohler 2005 – creamy yet tense, fresh yet honeyed. It was like having Reese Witherspoon around.

Image

Later on – 5 glasses later precisely – we tasted a very masculine Grand Cru Kirchberg de Ribeauvillé 2009 by Bott Frères. Well-built yet subtle in taste, a sexy-zesty nose & a take-me home mouth, Glou said this wine was Michael Fassbender. The pedigree was definitely similar.

Image

Alain Delon joined us for the next amuse-bouche with a Grand Cru Rangen 2007 by Martin Schaetzel: it was hot & ripe. Generous & leathery with a distinctive salty touch in the mouth .

Image

One of the last wines was my Ryan Gosling: stern & straight yet flowery & delicious: a Grand Cru Osterberg 2009 by Luis SIPP.

Image

Finally, yes, finally, George Clooney came in. A man with a cause. Sweet & warm to make us smile. It was another Grand Cru: Zinnkoepfle Riesling, late harvest, 2005, Seppi Landmann.

Image

All in all, it was a brilliant evening and I’m very grateful Les Vins d’Alsace invited me to discover a few gems of their great region!